Homemade Lathe

IMG_1167

IMG_1189

Ok, so call me crazy but I thought I would build a lathe.

I saw this in an issue of ShopNotes and it was calling my name especially since I already had the motor, a lot of the hardware and enough plywood to make it. A full size lathe was going to set me back quite a bit and besides my wife having something to say about it, I couldn’t justify it either. So I figured I would make one and save myself the money.

I am going to be building a coffee table shortly and do some turned legs but I still need to get a bit better at my turning skills before I waste some nice ash I have for the legs.

My first project was about a week before Halloween hence my vampire stake I made!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Where are the plans for this home made lathe?

    1. tlitrenta says:

      ShopNotes Vol. 13 Issue 73

  2. curtis says:

    would you happen to have the plans i really want to build this

Leave a Reply

