Shop Upgrade – Plane Rack

In between the https://offbyaninchwoodworking.wordpress.com/2016/02/11/hickory-and-walnut-table-part-3/ I veered off course a little for a couple things I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time now. First being a hand plane rack that is right beside the bench for when I need it. Over Christmas my wife bought me a Veritas Router Plane and with all the gift certificates I got, I also purchased a scrub plane. I wanted the rack to be able to hold the planes but also have a bit of storage for random hand tool related odds and ends.

IMG_3246

Started off by roughing out the overall look where I could have some small storage below and the angled top where the planes will sit and not come crashing down. I just winged the dimensions and honestly it was made the size it was to fit the planes obviously but I also had to be strategic so I would be able to make use of all the plywood I had leftover from previous projects.

IMG_3247

No, this is not a pattern in the wood. I used this piece when I laid the patio stones at the front of my house and instead of using the power tamper directly on the stones, I used the piece of plywood to dampen the vibration a little and so that I wouldn’t crack the stones. Didn’t look the greatest but with a little bit of sanding, most of it came out. And besides, this was on the inside of the cabinet anyways.

IMG_3249

Here it is assembled before putting in all the edging.

IMG_3267

Because this was just a shop cabinet I really didn’t care to make everything perfect so to do the edging I just glued and brad nailed the whole thing. The edging was just some leftover hickory from the table build.

IMG_3282

And here is the final layout with all the planes on display as well as my new dovetail saw 🙂 This thing has actually been a great addition to the shop. I put a piano hinge on the cabinet so you can lift up the front and store some taller things in the cabinet. That combined with the shelf below has been a nice addition.

Leave a Reply

